The Toucan Series

6 beautifully illustrated decodable stories for students in 2nd - 4th grade.

The Toucan Series is a set of 6 decodable books for students in 2nd - 4th grade. It was created with our older learners in mind to provide important reading opportunities. Each book is beautifully illustrated, and includes comprehension questions for students, a writing prompt, and a glossary for non-fiction books. 


This series was created to provide students with opportunities for connected text reading during Tier 2 and Tier 3 interventions. This set of books can be implemented in combination with Bridge the Gap: Phonemic Awareness intervention lessons. The Toucan series can also be used for decodable reading for students in late 1st or 2nd grade.


Stories are meant to be read in a single sitting (25-30 pages in length), and the skills increase in complexity with each book. All of the books in the Toucan Series have comprehension questions, a writing prompt, and are 6x9 inches with a soft cover and durable thread-sewn binding.

Please publish more. My students have been loving these and they are perfect for my 3rd grade struggling readers.

Malinda V.

This is the most wonderful set of books. How many “early readers” have I opened over the years only to be discouraged that my child has not learned to read most of the words. Not so with these decodable books.


Elissa M.

I am thrilled with these books. They make for smooth reading for an older struggling child. The language is just right for my 3rd grader to feel confident in his progression and the books all cover topics he was interested in and wanted to learn more about after reading. The art work is stimulating and adds depth to the story. We loved that each book used a completely different artist and covered a variety of different subject matter.

Meg R.

It’s always challenging to find high interest books at lower levels. These are fantastic. Short, interesting, and my students love them!

Jana A.