The Frog Series

8 beautifully illustrated decodable stories for students in first grade.

The Frog Series is a set of 8 decodable books for students in first grade. There are 4 fiction titles and 4 non-fiction (NF) titles. Each book was written to be decodable, comprehensible and engaging for our youngest readers.


The Frog Series focuses on short vowel sounds and high-frequency words, with exposure to consonant digraphs. Each fiction book includes animal characters and an SEL connection, while each nonfiction book teaches students about one of the animals from the fiction books.


Stories are meant to be read in a single sitting (25-30 pages in length), and the skills increase in complexity with each book. All of the books in the Frog Series have comprehension questions, a writing prompt, and are 9x9 inches with a soft cover and durable thread-sewn binding.

These decodable readers are colorful, fun, engaging and make all of my students, regardless of their reading abilities, feel like a “reader”.

Melissa B.
New York

My students and I absolutely love this series. They are colorful and fun. The QAR questions are wonderful.

Joy R.

This new series is engaging, colorful, and very readable for our students.

Ashlee T.
North Carolina

Receiving these readers brought our interventionist to tears!

Callie H.

Great decodable books! My students loved reading these books.

Jill B.